Society for Health Communication Elects New President and Executive Leadership Team

Appointments include Executive Leadership, 3 Steering Committee Members
and Executive Director, reflecting continued organizational growth and essential role of health communicators.


February 8, 2024The Society for Health Communication, a member-driven organization working to advance the science of health communication, elected its 2024 Executive Leadership Team, three new Steering Committee members for the 2024-2025 term, and appointed a new Executive Director. Ashani Johnson-Turbes, PhD, Vice President, NORC at the University of Chicago has been elected as 2024 President, Stacy Robison, MPH, CHES, President and Co-Founder, CommunicateHealth as Vice President, and Stephanie Miles, PhD, Deputy Director, Communication Research, Fors Marsh as Secretary and Member-at-Large.

Johnson-Turbes previously served as Vice President and now chairs the Society’s Steering Committee. She partners with Robison to achieve the Society’s mission and vision, diversity, equity and inclusion, and overall growth goals. Miles will focus on organizational member engagement and retention and manage the Society’s Advisory Board.

Following an open nomination and review process, the Society appointed three new Steering Committee members for the 2024-2025 term:

The new Steering Committee members bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the Society. With representation from multiple sectors, the Society will further expand its knowledge base and influence to build a stronger, more connected field.

“Congratulations to Ashani and this new cadre of leaders who will continue to deliver meaningful impact within the field by carrying out the mission to accelerate learning and development, exchange ideas and best practices and advance the science of health communication to our more than 5,500 members,” said Michael Grela, outgoing President and Steering Committee Chair, Society for Health Communication and EVP, Head of Reputation, Public Health & Social Impact, Inizio Evoke Comms.

The Society appointed Dana Chomenko, Vice President, Public Health Research & Evaluation, BLH Technologies as its new Executive Director. Chomenko will oversee organizational operations and will plan and drive execution of the annual National Summit for Health Communication. In addition, Michelle Bellon, MBA, Senior Vice President, Impact and Growth, Rescue, was appointed to the Society’s Advisory Board.

“I am immensely thankful to Michael Grela for his exceptional leadership over the past two years. I am honored to continue his excellent work and serve as 2024 President of the Society. The new leadership team, with its unique set of expertise and skills, is well equipped to lead the Society in today’s constantly evolving landscape,” said Dr. Ashani Johnson-Turbes, President & Steering Committee Chair and Vice President, NORC at the University of Chicago.

In 2024, the Society will continue its educational webinar series, sharing of relevant resources, best practices, and opportunities across the field, and host its 8th Annual Summit for Health Communication June 17-18, 2024, in the Washington, D.C. metro area.

About the Society for Health Communication

The Society for Health Communication is a nonprofit organization bringing together health communication professionals and scholars to create meaningful connections, share knowledge, and exchange best practices across disciplines, and advance the science of health communication. Since its founding in 2016, the Society has grown to more than 5,500 individual members and 30 organizational members, representing academia, government, nonprofits, and the private sector, connected in their mission to help foster trust in science, dependence on clarity, and the pursuit of health equity. We’re not just an organization; we’re a movement. To learn more, become a member, or donate, visit and follow along on X/Twitter @HealthCommSoc and LinkedIn @Society-for-Health-Communication.


Share this post:

Comments on "Society for Health Communication Elects New President and Executive Leadership Team "

Comments 0-0 of 0

Please login to comment