The Society is pleased to announce our new Executive Director and 2024 elected leadership positions. These leaders conduct the day-to-day work of the Society, our nation’s preeminent health communication organization founded by Dr. Jay Bernhardt, President, Emerson College, an internationally recognized leader, and scholar of health communication.

Society Leadership

Dana Chomenko, MA, PMP, Executive Director

Diane Brodalski, Communications Director

Tiasia Saunders, MPH, CHES, Community Manager

Learn about our Society leadership.

2024 Elected Leadership

Ashani Johnson-Turbes, President & Steering Committee Chair

Stacy Robison, MPH, MCHES, Vice President

Stephanie Miles PhD, Secretary & Member-at-Large

Michael Grela, Past President

Learn more about our elected leadership.


Steering Committee Members

TaWanna Berry
Associate Vice President

Brittaney Bethea, MPH, CCPH
Associate Vice President
Account Services (Public Health).

Jennifer Bishop, ScD
Director, Division of Health Promotion and Communication
Office of Health Promotion & Disease Prevention
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Diane Brodalski
Senior Health Communication Specialist
TLN Worldside Enterprises

Michael Grela
Executive Vice President
Head of Reputation, Public Health & Social Impact
Inizio Evoke Comms

Ashani Johnson-TurbesPhD
Vice President & Director, Center on Equity Research 
The Bridge at NORC

Mike MackertPhD
Provost's Teaching Fellow
Director, Center for Health Communication
ProfessorStan Richards School of Advertising & Public Relations
University of Texas at Austin

Grant McLaughlin, MA
Managing Director
Deloitte Consulting

Erin Norvell
Digital Director
CDC Foundation

Sung-Yeon Park, PhD
Professor, Lead, Division of Social Behavioral Health and Health Administration and Policy
School of Public Health
University of Reno, Nevada

Monica Ponder, PhD
Assistant Professor of Health Communication
Department of Communication, Culture and Media Studies
Howard University

Rachel Pryzby, MPH, CHES
Vice President, Health Communication Program Director

Stacy Robinson, MPH, MCHES
President and Co-Founder

Leslie Rodriguez, PhD
Senior Director, Public Health Programs

Neha Sachdev, MD, MS, FAAFP
Director, Clinical Engagement and Equitable Care
American Medical Association

Shelly Spöeth
Principal Associate
Abt Associates


Advisory Board Members

Tesfa Alexander, PhD
Co-Lead of Public Health Department

Michelle Bellon
Senior Vice President, Impact and Growth

Jennifer Berktold
Principal Research Scientist
NORC at the University of Chicago

Jay Bernhardt, PhD, MPH
Society Founder and President, Emerson College

Catherine Chao
Vice President, Strategy & Evaluation
Ad Council

Marguerite Clarkson, PhD

LeShaundra Cordier
Senior Director, Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder
Fors Marsh

Kate Durocher
Principal Associate
Abt Associates

Lindsey Gardner, MPP
Associate Director, Public Health Solutions
Medscape & WebMD

Vickie Gogo
Partner, Multicultural Communications
ICF Next

Molly Hartzog, PhD
Health Communications Specialist IV

Lenora Johnson, DrPH, MPH
Director, Office of Science Policy, Engagement, Education, and Communication
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)

Robin McClave MS, MCHES
Program Director
Healthy Schools, Healthy Communities
American University

Lauren McCormack, PhD
Vice President of Translational Health Sciences Division

Stephanie Miles, PhD
Managing Researcher, Health Communications Research + Strategy
Fors Marsh

Michelle Miller-Day, PhD
Professor, Graduate Programs Director, School of Communication
Chapman University

Adam Moreau
Director, Client + Agency Relationships
Marketing Doctor

Pierce Nelson
Vice President, Communications
CDC Foundation

DeJuan Price, MBA
Director of Marketing and Communications
BETAH Associates

Shari Rager
Deputy Director
American Medical Writer's Association

Scott Ratzan, MD
Journal of Health Communication: International Perspectives

Ruth Ann Spier, MS
Vice President
JBS International

Candice Watkins Robinson
Vice President, Health
Hager Sharp

Anna Zawislanski, MPH
EVP, Government Practice Leader
Crosby Marketing Communications


The Society would like to recognize and honor Dr. Tim Edgar, who was an inaugural member of the steering committee and founding member of the organization. Dr. Edgar's passing was a great loss to his colleagues, the Society, and entire field of public health.